Changing your program's status
To change the program status, click the Program Status button in the top right corner.
The available options depend on the program’s current status.
You can see how programs behave in different statuses in the following table.
Making small adjustments to your program
You can make the following small adjustments to a program regardless of its status:
- Change the program’s name,
- Replace the campaigns (email, push, SMS, In-app, Digital Ads or Web Channel),
- Replace the segments used in your program,
- Replace the trigger event in Interactions programs,
- Modify the conditions within Decision or Decision splitter nodes (Trigger attributes, Event happened, Event did not happen and Messages not sent templates) in Interactions,
- Modify the program’s schedule,
- Modify the settings of nodes (e.g. Participation check, A/B test, Update contact list, Set value),
- Modify the settings of the Wait node,
When you change the settings of a Wait node in Active, Scheduled, Paused and Frozen programs, the updates will not affect contacts already waiting at this node (they will proceed to the next node based on the original configuration). The updated schedule only applies to subsequent contacts arriving at the node.
If you set the Wait note to a later date, then you can align the contacts to follow the new schedule with the following workaround:
Suppose that the Wait node is set to Tuesday 9:00 AM and you change it to Tuesday 11:00 AM. To make sure that contacts at the Wait node will proceed to the next node at 11:00 AM, pause your program after changing the Wait node's settings and resume the program at 11:00 AM.
- Disable or enable channel nodes.
Please consider the following:
- Your changes will only take effect after clicking Save & Apply.
- After making a small adjustment to Active, Scheduled or Finished programs, the changes will take effect immediately after clicking Save & Apply. It means that, for example, the Decision node will evaluate the next contact based on the modified conditions and settings.
Changing your program’s structure
The limitations mentioned in this section apply to all program statuses except for In Design. You can modify In Design programs without any restrictions.
You can change the structure of your program regardless of its status as follows:
- You can add new nodes to your program.
You can insert a new node between two others by dropping it on the arrow connecting the two nodes. You can delete newly added nodes by clicking the Undo icon (before saving your program) or by discarding your changes.
- You can delete a single or multiple nodes or even a whole branch from your program.
- You can connect nodes with other nodes and delete connections.
- You can create new paths and add new branches to A/B test or A/B splitter nodes.
- You can link an Automation Center program to another one by adding the Transfer to program node to it.
- You cannot change the participation settings in Automation Center programs.
- Nodes that are not connected to other nodes cannot be left on the canvas.
- After saving the changes, the most recent version of your program will be displayed on the Program Reporting page regardless of the selected interval. If you set the timeframe to a time period before you modified the program, then 0 will be displayed above the newly added nodes.
You can delete a single or multiple nodes or even a whole branch from your program. It’s more efficient to delete nodes instead of copying the program because you will not lose its participation and reporting data and you don’t need to bother with renaming the program, finishing the old program and activating the new one. Deleting nodes comes in handy in the following cases:
Deleting nodes affect contacts as follows:
- Contacts currently at the node will exit the program immediately after clicking Save & Apply.
- When you delete a whole branch, all contacts on that branch will exit the program.
- When you delete channel nodes, contacts who have already arrived at the node will receive the message but they won’t continue their journey.
- When you delete a Wait or Wait for event node, contacts waiting at that node will exit the program.
- Reporting reflects the program’s current status regardless of the selected timeframe. As a result, deleted nodes can cause discrepancies on the Program Reporting page. For example, deleting a Decision or Filter switch (or any other filter) node may result in seemingly unexplainable differences between the number of contacts who continued their journey from the previous node (i.e. the figure displayed next to Out) and the number of contacts who arrived at the next node (i.e. the figure displayed next to In).
- Changes will only apply after clicking Save & Apply.
- You cannot delete entry nodes. Even if you have multiple entry points within an Automation Center program, you cannot delete them.
- To avoid losing contacts who have already arrived at the node you need to remove, you can add an A/B test or A/B splitter node before the one to be deleted and set the corresponding branch to 0%. When you are sure there are no contacts at the node anymore, you can delete it along with the A/B test or A/B splitter node and reconnect the remaining nodes.
- When you accidentally insert a node into the journey, you can undo the change in Active, In Testing, In Testing (Frozen) or Finished programs by clicking the Undo icon. Please note that you cannot undo the updates after changing the program’s status because the program is saved after changing the status.